Good Shepherd Episcopal Church, originally named St. Andrews Chapel, has a rich history that dates back over 100 years. The current building was built by Mary Mills Coxe on the Green River Plantation in 1906. Her idea was to have a mission chapel located on the hillside up the road from the main house and convenient for the black community of the plantation and the Pea Ridge area.
At the same time, the Good Shepherd Missionary district had established the Tryon Industrial Colored School on Markham Rd in Tryon. It was a place where both boys and girls were instructed in practical subjects like carpentry, masonry, sewing and cooking. In 1955 the mission moved the chapel building from Green River Plantation to the property by the school in Tryon. It was then re-named Good Shepherd Episcopal church.
Today, the congregation represents the rich diversity of Polk County and serves the people of this area with much more than the usual Sunday services. The buildings have been carefully maintained to ensure their lasting presence in our community. Be sure to stop by to see this part of our diverse history.